26 images

Historic Highland Castle | 153

map Beauly, Inverness-shire

Check availability & book calender icon

Overview

  • At a Glance
  • Facilities
  • Accommodation

    • Sleeps 16 (12 adults + 4 children)
    • 8 bedrooms
    • 3 bath / shower rooms

    Your holiday home

    • £2,950 - £4,550 per week
    • Security Deposit £500 (refundable)
    • Sunday changeover
    • 4:30 PM check in
    • 10:30 AM check out
    • 2 pets welcome (Pets go free)
    • No smoking
    • Property rating: 4
    • Facilities

      • Washing Machine
      • Wifi
      • Dishwasher
      • Microwave
      • Central Heating
      • Freezer
      • DVD Player
      • Tumble Dryer
      • TV
      • TV, Sky
    • Features

      • Games Room
      • Hot Tub
      • Four poster bed
      • Fishing
      • Internet Access

Description

This wonderful castle sits proudly in its own private estate, enjoying stunning views down a Highland glen, only 40 minutes from a major International airport.

This historic Scottish castle is located west of Inverness, sitting centrally within its own 12,000 acre private sporting estate. The L-plan building dates back to the 13th century with later additions added in the Georgian and Victorian eras. The grounds are substantial and consist of lawns, which are ideal for football or croquet. A hot tub is available from June to October.  The main section of the building i.e. the heart of the castle is let on an exclusive use basis. The castle is spacious and romantic with magnificent views, great for families (with or without children) and groups of friends.  A small section to the front is retained for the owner’s occasional use*.

  • Living
  • Beds & Baths
  • Grounds
  • Please note
  • Ground Floor
    You enter the building at ground level from the rear through a small porch. There’s a large, tiled utility room for drying wet outdoor gear, followed by a store room leading back outside the building to the hot tub (available for guest use from June to October). A large traditional games room with full size billiard table and table football table is also on this level, perfect for keeping everyone entertained. Access to the main living space is up a spiral staircase.

    First Floor

    Whilst the rear entrance to the castle is modest, once you’ve made it up onto the first floor you’ll come across a magnificent grand hallway with a wood panelled sweeping staircase, which is more “Monarch of the Glen” than “Gone with the Wind”. This reception hall continues on and there is a very impressive array of stuffed animal heads. The drawing room is comfortably furnished with fine antique portraits and an open fire; the perfect spot to discuss plans for the day ahead. The dining room, breakfast room and kitchen are also located on this level along with two bedrooms and a shower room.

    First Floor
    Situated on the first floor are all the reception rooms, including the dining room, breakfast room and kitchen. The dining room is a formal room with a fine mahogany table comfortably seating up to 18 guests.
    The kitchen is located opposite and is a simply furnished functional room, with two cooking ranges, both of which have 6-ring gas hobs and double ovens. A kitchen table can seat up to 6 people in this room, but there is also a breakfast room next door that can seat 8 people.

    In-house catering
    If you’d like to upgrade your holiday to include some home baked meals, the housekeeper can make herself available as extra with reasonable notice, so please do ask at the time of booking if this is something that appeals to you.

    Ground Floor
    Additionally there’s a spacious tiled utility room on the ground floor which has access from outside and inside. A perfect spot for drying wet coats and boots (and dogs!). If you are thinking of bringing a pet, please do note the owners insist on dogs being restricted to use of this room only and are not permitted anywhere else in the castle. It may therefore only suit owners of dogs who are used to this sort of arrangement.

  • Accommodation is provided for a group of 12 adults and 4 children in 8 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms and 1 shower room, as follows:

    • 1 Single Bedroom/s With Shared Bathroom
    • 4 Double Bedroom/s With Shared Bathroom
    • 2 Twin Bedroom/s With Shared Bathroom
    • 2 Four Poster Double Bedroom/s With Shared Bathroom
    • 1 Family Room With One Double Bed And Two Single Beds With Shared Bathroom

    First floor – accommodating 4 guests

    Room 1, double bedroom, with double bed; 

    Room 2, twin bedroom, with two single beds; shower room, with shower cabinet, w.c and wash hand basin.

    Second floor – accommodating 12 guests

    Room 3, double bedroom, with four poster double bed; bathroom, with bath with shower over, w.c and wash hand basin;

    Room 4, double bedroom, with four poster double bed;

    Room 5, twin bedroom, with two single beds; w.c, with w.c and wash hand basin; bathroom, with bath only and wash hand basin;

    Room 6, double bedroom (which adjoins to single room next door), with double bed;

    Room 7, single bedroom (which adjoins to room next door), with single bed;

    Room 8, accessed by separate stairs, is a triple bedroom, with three single beds.


    From 2019 - Third Floor – accommodating 4 guests

    Two additional bedrooms will be made available on this floor but given the access (high spiral staircase and relative remoteness from other side of the castle) will not be suitable for children or the infirm. 

    Room 9, double bedroom wc and washbasin adjacent

    Room 10, double bedroom - shared bathroom accessed by stairs to fourth floor

  • Situated within a private estate, surrounded by lawn and parkland. Located 18 miles to the west of Inverness, nestled within a glen surrounded by hills in the country. With a general store nearby, the major supermarkets are found in Inverness. There are sporting activities available on the private estate, including fishing.

    For the golfer the nearest golf course is a few miles away at Aigas. Further good courses can be found at Inverness, as well as Castle Stuart. Loch Ness is close at hand, so trips to see Nessie are a must. The Culloden Visitor Centre is a popular attraction. Trips to see the Moray Firth dolphins on dolphin watch boats are fun for all the family.

  • Housekeeper
    Please note that the housekeepers have daily access for light duties on behalf of the house.

    Group Types
    Due to negative experiences in the past, Stag and Hen groups may not book this property unless discussed at the time of enquiry with prior approval being sought from the Owner.  Changes to the terms and conditions may apply, including an increase in the Good Housekeeping Deposit. Neither the Owner nor the Agent will accept any liability should a booking be confirmed as a consequence of non-disclosure of the above which may later result in a booking cancellation by the Owner. For more information on this matter please speak to a member of our staff.

    Fireworks are not permitted at this property.

    Pets
    By prior arrangement only, 2 well behaved dogs are welcome.  They will be restricted to the spacious tiled utility room on the ground floor which has access from outside and inside.  Dogs will not under any circumstances be permitted further into the castle or on any of the other floors, so may only suit pets who are used to this sort of arrangement. 

    Owners Private Section
    The managers retain a private section on the top floor which may sometimes be occupied but no facilities are shared except the back staircase. If in residence they'll be using the back door. 


lock-iconYour booking is always safe and secure

Map

Area
Inverness-shire
Airports
Nearest Airport
Inverness Airport 24 miles
Train Stations
Nearest Train Station
Beauly 8 miles
Muir of Ord 10 miles
Conon Bridge 12 miles

Photos

Surrounded by lawn and parkland is this hidden gem
2019-08-27 10:59:42
The grand entrance hall at this impressive castle
The drawing room with antiques and comfortable sofas
Castle drawing room
The hallway has a very impressive sweeping staircase
The dining room is formal yet cosy with an open fire
Castle Kitchen
Castle Kitchen
Castle Kitchen
The full size billiard table will provide entertainment for all
Original features will be found throughout ...
All bedrooms are on the first and second floor.
Room 3. A fab four poster double room on second floor Group: Bedroom
Room 2. A twin room on the first floor
Modern shower cubicle on the first floor
Room 1. A fine double room with antique bed on first floor
Second floor shared bathroom
Luxury extra\'s in the form of toiletries
Room 4. A generous four posted bed on the second floor
3rd floor double bedroom
3rd floor double bedroom
Room 6. A stylish double room on the second floor
Room 8 is the bright family room on the second floor
Ohhh - did we mention a hot tub is available during warmer months?
2019-08-27 10:59:42

Guestbook

06 July 2017
Rated 5 out of 5

The castle could not have been more beautiful, comfortable, spacious, or magical.

Wow what a fantastic photo, thanks for sharing! It looks like you all had a wonderful time for the birthday celebrations, with the castle making a perfect venue. Great that you found it comfortable and spacious, adding some extra magic to your stay!

Amy was responsive to emailed questions and regarding many details for planning our trip.

Thank you for your feedback, we are s pleased you found the team responsive and it was a pleasure helping with such a special celebratory trip for you all! We hope we might be able to help again in the future. 

21 April 2017
Rated 5 out of 5

Scotts Castle Holidays were very helpful in helping us choose the location giving quite a few options and answering our many questions. When we actually booked the process was made very simple with online payments split into the deposit, main payment and security deposit (which was returned within a week of returning). Before departing on our holiday we received plenty of information regarding directions and arrival instructions. Couldn't have been any smoother.

We're delighted you rated our service excellent and found our team helpful whilst narrowing down the options for your holiday in Scotland.

Great to hear you found the booking process simple, with the handy online payment options and speedy GHD return. 

We hope to hear from you again in the near future, should you wish to plan another adventure with us! 

Upon arrival at the castle we were warmly met by Greg and Ali who immediately gave a quick tour of the castle and explained security etc. This only took a few minutes but they were both on hand throughout the week should we have any questions or problems.

The initial entrance to the castle isn't that grand but once inside you realise that everything is going to be on a large scale! On the ground floor is a very useful boot room (already holding a selection of wellington boots) for stripping off wet coats etc. and the corridor leads to the Billiards Room. It's been a few years since we all played on a full sized table and it really isn't as easy as they make it look on the TV! Also on the ground floor is a ping pong table in the old kitchen and a few other nooks and crannies ideal for that initial game of hide and seek. The most important aspect of this area is the dumb waiter (small lift) that we all used to get our suitcases to the next floor (and a thousand bags of shopping delivered by Tesco an hour after we arrived).

On the first floor are a couple of very comfortably furnished bedrooms, a large kitchen, breakfast room, a beautiful dining room that will accommodate your whole party and the huge lounge. All the furniture is quirky but very comfortable and there was plenty of space on the occasions we all gathered together as a group. We took plenty of board games and cards etc. but there are plenty in the cupboards if you forget. Not the biggest TV in the world but it is connected to a full Sky package; the WiFi is not great.

Upstairs are more very nice double bedrooms, two with four poster beds. A lovely double room on the front of the castle with a small single room next to it was our older daughter's favourite! On this same level but accessible by a separate staircase is the family room. It's a bit disconnected from the rest of the castle and the kids only used it once for a sleepover; it looks comfortable enough but it's likely that those stopping in it for a week will feel like the poor relatives in comparison with the other bedrooms!

If we had any criticism of the inside of the castle it was the bathrooms: there aren't that many! This was fine for us as we were on a relaxed week with no schedule but I could imagine an issue with 16 people all trying to get ready for a wedding at the same time!

The grounds are spectacular. A five minute walk takes you to a small stream that the kids can paddle in, 15 minutes to the larger river that probably isn't so suitable for paddling! Plenty of opportunities for walking and playing lawn games (there's a croquet set, tennis racquets, some bikes - use what you can find).

In summary, we highly recommend a stay at this spectacular castle for either a special occasion or a quite week away in a beautiful area. Many thanks to Scotts Castle Holidays for making it all so easy.

Wow, thanks so much for your lovely comments, we will certainly pass these on! It sounds like you all had a superb holiday, with everyone enjoying all aspects of the castle, grounds and what is on offer.

The team at the castle are always very accommodating and helpful, so great to hear you thought so too! We're thrilled you would recommend a stay here and don't forget to claim your loyalty discount with us if you wish to return again yourselves.

30 March 2017
Rated 5 out of 5

great experience Lording it up in a fantastic castle

Great that you rated this Highland Castle 5 stars, sounds like everyone had a fantastic time!

superb customer service
staff replied to all queries very quickly and

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we're thrilled you found our service superb and all queries were handled quickly. We hope to be of help again in the future.

07 August 2016
Rated 5 out of 5

Brilliant castle and surroundings for celebrations. Comfortable beds and friendly staff. We had a great time and loved that we were left to enjoy the castle but knowing that there were people there if needed for anything. This castle would be hard to beat as it has everything you would expect a castle to have. Huge rooms and great walks.

Fabulous to hear you enjoyed the celebrations at the castle, finding the beds comfy and the onsite staff helpful. Sounds like everyone had a fantastic time!

Should you ever wish to return, don't forget to claim your loyalty discount next time.

Great company to book through, excellent communication and kept right through each step from first booking. Always knew when payments were due.

Thank you for your excellent feedback, we're delighted that you found our communication excellent, we would love to be of help again in the future.

01 May 2016
Rated 5 out of 5

Exactly what we expected, the castle was perfect !

Wonderful to hear that this stunning Highland Castle was all you hoped for, we would be delighted to assist with your next trip to Scotland!

Very helpfull through and through

Thank you very much for the feedback, glad you found our booking service helpful.

06 January 2016
Rated 5 out of 5

Our second New Year visit to this property. Well laid out, warm, spacious. Fantastic part of Scotland, walks straight from the house. Near beautiful Glen Affric. We all love this property and would come again. Only downsides are very soft beds, kitchen dated and not well laid out. This year logs for fire did not burn well so had to buy coal, but overall a fantastic venue for a large gathering of family or friends.

Sounds like another lovely stay was had by all at this beautiful castle! Glad that you found the accommodation spacious and well laid out, this is such a perfect property for a large get together and we would be delighted to welcome you back again for another Hogmanay!

Prompt responses to queries, very polite and very accommodating. Helpful, value returning customers which is lovely. I have no complaints and no negatives. Would definitely use again and recommend.

Thank you for the lovely feedback for our service. Great that you found our team helpful and polite, please don’t hesitate to get back in touch if we can assist with any future holiday plans!

11 November 2015
Rated 5 out of 5

A lovely weekend with fantastic rooms and atmosphere.

Sounds like the castle was perfect for your Highland holiday and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future. If you would like to re book, don't forget we offer a loyalty discount!

Very helpful when I was trying to book while overseas and had poor connection.

Many thanks for the lovely feedback, great to hear you found our service helpful and that we were able to assist with your plans while you were travelling.

15 April 2015
Rated 5 out of 5

The castle is an amazing property and gorgeous grounds. The bedrooms were lovely, decorated very well, and the beds were very comfortable. Overall though we were disappointed with the state of the kitchen, and bathrooms. They were both very dirty. The kitchen had mouse droppings all over, all the plates, pots, glasses and cutlery were dirty, as well as the tables and furniture. The main living room was beautiful, but again the sofas need either cleaning or replacing. The policy of keeping dogs on only the first floor is a shame. Either allow them at the property or not. It was not an optimal situation. Otherwise, Scotts Castle was helpful, and the area of Beauly where the castle is located is peaceful and scenic.

Thanks so much for your review, glad to hear you had an amazing time at this historic castle! The owners are very sorry to hear your comments, they assure us they will investigate fully and implement any deep cleaning required. It may be helpful to know the housekeepers are always on hand if you have any concerns throughout your holiday and are happy to pop back over to resolve any problems that may arise. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if we can help with future plans.

Scotts Castle Holidays was a pleasure to work with. Very responsive and helpful.

Lovely to hear you found us helpful, it was a pleasure to help with your holiday plans and we hope we can again sometime!

08 January 2015
Rated 5 out of 5

Our party loved everything about the property. It was perfect!

Thanks for your comments, any feedback is always helpful!

Sounds like there were smiles all around after your stay at this historic highland retreat. We are delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their stay!

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us again in the future if you would like to rebook again sometime.

Fantastic company to deal with, very professional

Thanks for your comments, any feedback is always helpful!

Sounds like there were smiles all around after your stay at this historic highland retreat. We are delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their stay!

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us again in the future if you would like to rebook again sometime.

19 November 2014
Rated 5 out of 5

Our stay at the castle was absolutely brilliant, from the warm welcome from Lisa , to the comfort and cosiness of every room in the castle, we will certainly return to the castle in the future. 10\10

It's always nice to receive great feedback, thank you! It was a pleasure helping with your trip and hopefully we can again in the future.

So pleased the castle met your expectations and you all had a fabulous time. We look forward to hearing from you again soon should you wish to return!

Naomi Ashwell
Scotts Castle Holidays

Scotts Castle Holidays were excellent in every way during the booking of our holiday, very profesionaly carried out and many thanks to Naomi Ashwell for all her help.

It's always nice to receive great feedback, thank you! It was a pleasure helping with your trip and hopefully we can again in the future.

So pleased the castle met your expectations and you all had a fabulous time. We look forward to hearing from you again soon should you wish to return!

Naomi Ashwell
Scotts Castle Holidays

12 November 2014
Rated 5 out of 5

great location, friendly and helpful housekeeper! comfier than expected!

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated!

Sounds like a great time was had by all at the castle, lovely to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope we can be of help again in the future with any holiday plans you may have!

Naomi Ashwell
Scotts Castle Holidays

Great site, easy to use, prompt service

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated!

Sounds like a great time was had by all at the castle, lovely to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope we can be of help again in the future with any holiday plans you may have!

Naomi Ashwell
Scotts Castle Holidays

27 August 2014
Rated 5 out of 5

Wonderful time spent at the castle. Although it is a castle it maintains a very homely comfortable atmosphere. Bedrooms were all excellent with very comfortable beds and extras like fluffy white dressing gowns. Beautiful surroundings and a very peaceful setting.

Thank you for your feedback, so pleased that you found our service helpful, we hope we can be of assistance again in the future.

Sounds like you all enjoyed your time at this great castle and made the most out of the property and grounds - great to hear!

Naomi Ashwell
Scotts Castle Holidays

Very helpful professional service, and would highly recommend them

Thank you for your feedback, so pleased that you found our service helpful, we hope we can be of assistance again in the future.

Sounds like you all enjoyed your time at this great castle and made the most out of the property and grounds - great to hear!

Naomi Ashwell
Scotts Castle Holidays

23 April 2014
Rated 4 out of 5

Was a lovely time due to the company, the weather and the setting. However the castle was not spotlessly clean and toilets could do with replacement seats. We would still book it again since we had a great time

Thank you for your comments, we shall certainly pass these onto the owners but great to hear you had a nice time overall.

The Good Housekeeping deposit is refunded as per our normal procedure, 7 days after your holiday. However having spoken with the owners we have been able to agree to return this earlier for you which may be helpful.

Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can be of help again in the future.

Scotts Castle Holidays

Will change to excellent if my deposit is returned in the next couple of days

Thank you for your comments, we shall certainly pass these onto the owners but great to hear you had a nice time overall.

The Good Housekeeping deposit is refunded as per our normal procedure, 7 days after your holiday. However having spoken with the owners we have been able to agree to return this earlier for you which may be helpful.

Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can be of help again in the future.

Scotts Castle Holidays

12 February 2014
Rated 5 out of 5

The castle was even better than I had expected! It was the perfect setting for our birthday party and stay in beautiful Scotland! We will always remember!

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted to have been able to assist with your celebratory trip and its great that you all enjoyed your holiday!

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us if we can help with any future trips and remember to claim your loyalty discount next time!

Scotts Castle Holidays

The company offered always help and friendly advice. The service was excellent!

Thank you!

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted to have been able to assist with your celebratory trip and its great that you all enjoyed your holiday!

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us if we can help with any future trips and remember to claim your loyalty discount next time!

Scotts Castle Holidays

30 October 2013
Rated 4 out of 5

Extremely comfortable and spacious as you would imagine. Nothing was too much trouble and very warm and cosy especially the beds. various array of options to things to see and do there and out and about

Thank you for your comments. The arrival information is a generic email, as most of our visitors are travelling from outside of Scotland but we apologise for any misunderstanding.

We are pleased you had a nice time at Erchless Castle and great to hear that you are already thinking of re booking a property for next year, we would be delighted to help with future plans!

Scotts Castle Holidays

Efficient communication , but lacked an element of common sense. Emails said welcome to Scotland, but in fact I live in Scotland was missed!!

Thank you for your comments. The arrival information is a generic email, as most of our visitors are travelling from outside of Scotland but we apologise for any misunderstanding.

We are pleased you had a nice time at Erchless Castle and great to hear that you are already thinking of re booking a property for next year, we would be delighted to help with future plans!

Scotts Castle Holidays

24 April 2013
Rated 5 out of 5

Excellent venue for a large family party. Expected a large castle in Scotland to be cold but was very warm and comfortable.

Many thanks for your feedback, and we are glad to hear that you found our payment service helpful. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay, and enjoyed this beautiful castle. Don’t forget to claim your Loyalty Discount next time you book with us.

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: sales@scottscastles.com

Helpful team with excellent communication. Very useful payment method which all members of a large party can access easily.

Many thanks for your feedback, and we are glad to hear that you found our payment service helpful. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay, and enjoyed this beautiful castle. Don’t forget to claim your Loyalty Discount next time you book with us.

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: sales@scottscastles.com

17 April 2013
Rated 4 out of 5

We all had a wonderful time there. The dining room was great for our 16/17 people to get together each evening as was the lounge for afterwards. Open fire in lounge was great with logs supplied. The odd problem like the heating settings not being correct after the clocks changed was sorted quite quickly. Kitchen was well equipped although some more tea/coffee mugs would be very useful when they are all in the dishwasher. Plate warming cabinet in kitchen was very useful for warming plates and keeping food hot for next course. A proper drying room would be a very useful addition for those coming off the hills after rainy/snowy days with wet clothing and boots.

Many thanks for your comments following your stay, all feedback is much appreciated. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful holiday, and enjoyed this beautiful property. We have recently introduced a loyalty discount scheme for returning customers, and look forward to assisting you with future plans.

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: sales@scottscastles.com

Quite efficient organisation that was pleasant to deal with. Payment of balance via their website was easy - once I found out from them that I could do it that way. It didn't seem to be mentioned directly on their confirmation documents. Would have no hesitation in using them again.

Many thanks for your comments following your stay, all feedback is much appreciated. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful holiday, and enjoyed this beautiful property. We have recently introduced a loyalty discount scheme for returning customers, and look forward to assisting you with future plans.

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: sales@scottscastles.com

23 January 2013
Rated 5 out of 5

The Castle was amazing, I had a fantastic time.

Thank you for submitting your feedback further to your holiday at Erchless Castle, we are delighted to hear that you found our service to be helpful and great that you had an amazing time at the property.

We hope to be of help with any future holiday plans you may have and dont forget to claim your Loyalty Discount next time you book!(T &C's apply)

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: sales@scottscastles.com

Scotts Castle was very quick at replying to my enquiries and very accomodating. Thank you

Thank you for submitting your feedback further to your holiday at Erchless Castle, we are delighted to hear that you found our service to be helpful and great that you had an amazing time at the property.

We hope to be of help with any future holiday plans you may have and dont forget to claim your Loyalty Discount next time you book!(T &C's apply)

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: sales@scottscastles.com

People also viewed …

Melrose, Roxburghshire
Ref: 002
Sleeps 12 | 7 bedrooms
Tue 14 Apr 2020
for 7 nights
Blair Atholl, Perthshire
Ref: 306
Sleeps 12 | 8 bedrooms
Tue 7 Apr 2020
for 7 nights
Forfar, Angus
Ref: 300
Sleeps 20 | 10 bedrooms
Fri 10 Apr 2020
for 7 nights
Dalwhinnie, Inverness-shire
Ref: 072
Sleeps 8 | 4 bedrooms
Tue 7 Apr 2020
for 7 nights
Dalwhinnie, Inverness-shire
Ref: 045B
Sleeps 8 | 4 bedrooms
Tue 7 Apr 2020
for 7 nights
Aslacton, Norfolk
Ref: 1895NO
Sleeps 14 | 7 bedrooms
Mon 31 Aug 2020
for 7 nights
Top